Tag: svenness


SVENNESS 3.6

November 21st, 2014 — 1:05am

For episode 3.6 we head to Ruddervoorde for the third round of the Superprestige series. The race takes place in a usually quiet neighborhood. It’s a tight course with lots of turns and short climbs. There is nowhere to really escape and more than a handful of riders are in contention as the race winds down. A far cry from the two or three racers we normally see off the front at the end of the race. Riding vs. running is one key (and one that is the topic of discussion in the first episode of Your Moment of SVENNESS available here: cxhairs.com/2014/11/18/your-moment-of-svenness-1-1/) The sand, while not treacherous like Zonhoven also plays a role. But more than anything it’s a battle to the end with many different leaders and a great performance by the winner.

SVENNESS is presented by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer. Check it out at cyclocrossbook.com. Also please give some love to our sponsor the Cadence Collection. Click through the banner at the top of this page and get 25 percent off with the discount code.

Footage is via Vier: vier.be/veldrijden

All music in this episode is available for purchase at Bandcamp.com.

Playlist:

Had Ten Dollaz~Cherry Glazerr: suicidesqueeze.bandcamp.com/track/had-ten-dollaz

Move Away~Shambles: shamblesmusic.bandcamp.com/album/move-away

Too Shabby~Rozwell Kid: brokenworldmedia.bandcamp.com/album/too-shabby

Royal Blue~The American Scene: purenoise.bandcamp.com/track/royal-blue

Cosmic Misery~Martha: marthadiy.bandcamp.com/album/courting-strong

Thanks for watching.

SVENNESS 3.6 from In The Crosshairs on Vimeo.

FacebookTwitterTumblrRedditShare

Comment » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS, Video

Your Moment Of SVENNESS 1.1

November 18th, 2014 — 12:11am

While we put together the next full-on SVENNESS episode, here is a bit of a return to the SVENNESS roots. For “Your Moment of SVENNESS” the idea is to take one feature on a course, or one specific skill, and concentrate on just that. No race recap, just an analysis of one feature.This is similar to the first six episodes of SVENNESS from two years ago. Except this time with a voice over.

Your Moment of SVENNESS (YMOS) 1.1 is taken from the Super Prestige Ruddervoorde race. It looks at one of the two sets of steps on the course and the multiple off-camber turns directly after. The discussion includes a look at different carrying techniques and then a breakdown of the run vs. ride decision.

Footage is by Vier.

As always, if you like what you see, please visit crosshairscycling.com/shop and pick up a shirt or book. New socks and more SVENNESS shirts should be in stock soon.

Thanks for watching.

4 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS

SVENNESS 3.5

November 12th, 2014 — 3:38am

For Episode 3.5 of SVENNESS we travel to the Belgian province of Limburg for the Superprestige Zonhoven. The race is a fan favorite known for its two harrowing descents down the side of a sand dune. This year the sand certainly plays a role but it isn’t the dunes. Rather a short off-camber and flat long sandy straight are the features that make the race. Sven Nys is out for redemption after being mired in a finish line controversy the day before at Koppenberg Cross. Tom Meeusen, Lars van der Haar, Kevin Pauwels, Mathieu van der Poel and Klaas Vantornout all are riding strong and this race is up for grabs from the hole shot.

As always, SVENNESS is brought to you by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer. For more information and to purchase a copy visit cyclocrossbook.com.

Footage for this episode is via Vier: www.vier.be/veldrijden

All music is available at Bandcamp.com. If you like a tune, go buy it.

Breaker~Chaos Chaos: https://chaoschaos.bandcamp.com/album/committed-to-the-crime

Not Bad~Good Shade: https://goodshade.bandcamp.com/album/good-shade

Hot 97 Summer Jam~Chumped: https://chumped.bandcamp.com/track/hot-97-summer-jam

16 Questions~The No Marks: https://brassneckrecords.bandcamp.com/track/16-questions-2

Alchemy~Banner Pilot: https://bannerpilot.bandcamp.com/track/alchemy

Saffron~Cool TV: https://thenameofthisbandiscool.bandcamp.com/track/saffron

Thanks for watching.

5 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS, Video

SVENNESS 3.4

November 7th, 2014 — 7:01am

For SVENNESS episode 3.4 we travel to the Koppenberg Cross in Oudenaarde, Belgium. The B-Post Trophy race uses the same cobbled climb, the Koppenberg, that features in the Tour of Flanders, but here it is more of a respite than a launching pad. The Koppenberg Cross is all about climbing and descending and those who excel at those skills will have the advantage. We concentrate on cornering on descents, riding mud, race strategy and a controversial finish.

SVENNESS 3.4 is brought to you by Skills, Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer. Check it out at cyclocrossbook.com.

Video is via Sporza: http://sporza.be/cm/sporza/wielrennen/veldrijden

Music for this episode is all available for purchase directly from the artist through BandCamp.

Playlist:

I Am The Sea~The Bloody Oranges: thebloodyoranges.com/track/i-am-the-sea

Dead Wrong~Somos: somos.bandcamp.com/track/dead-wrong

Rats~Kill Chaos: fieldrecords.bandcamp.com/track/rats

Radio Silence~Cosmonaut: cosmonautnyc.bandcamp.com/album/radio-silence-7

I Want To Waste Away With You~Sports Bar: wearesportsbar.bandcamp.com/album/i-want-to-waste-away-with-you

Bending Ober Backwards~High-Tails: hightailsband.bandcamp.com/track/bending-over-backwards

Money~Mystery Skulls: mysteryskulls.bandcamp.com/track/money

Big Hearts~The Swellers: nosleepsampler.com/track/big-hearts

Thanks for watching.

9 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, Skills and Technique, SVENNESS, Video

SVENNESS 3.3

October 31st, 2014 — 7:49pm

For episode 3.3 we take a trip to Valkenburg, Netherlands, for the first round of the UCI World Cup. The Valkenburg course is a tough one. Lots of elevation changes, difficult off-camber sections, a tough descent and a killer run-up. We spend a lot of time on the off-camber inspecting lines and technique. We also take a look at the tricky descent and a great race for the podium. The winner is decided pretty early in this one, so the drama comes from the race for second place. Finally, we spend some time tracking Jeremy Powers who started in the pack but methodically worked his way up to a great finishing spot.

As always, you can support what we do by purchasing Skills Drills & Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer. It makes a great gift and is available at cyclocrossbook.com.

You can also check out our shirts, socks and other swag at crosshairscycling.com/shop.

Video for this episode via Sporza: sporza.be/cm/sporza/wielrennen/veldrijden

Music for this episode is available at bandcamp.com. If you like a song, buy the song. And maybe send a tweet to the artist letting them know where you heard it.

Playlist:

The Catherdral~Meridian: youthconspiracy.bandcamp.com/album/the-cathedral

Gotta Wait~Childcare: childcareband.bandcamp.com/track/gotta-wait

Just One Of Those Things~Textbook: textbook.bandcamp.com/album/all-messed-up

Chapters~River Jumpers: riverjumpers.bandcamp.com/album/chapters

Anyway~Moose Blood: nosleepsampler.com/track/anyway

Hiding from You~Sonic Avenues: takenbysurpriserecords.bandcamp.com/track/hiding-from-you

Thanks for watching.

SVENNESS 3.3 from In The Crosshairs on Vimeo.

Comment » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS, Video

SVENNESS 3.2

October 17th, 2014 — 4:17pm

For SVENNESS 3.2 we go to Ronse, Belgium, for the first race in the Bpost Bank Trophy series. After young Mathieu van der Poel’s early season successes, Sven Nys called this race the “Battle of the Generations.” MvdP drew first blood getting a great start and showing some rad moves but in the end it was the old man showing why the harder the track the stronger he becomes. Ronse is a brutal cyclocross course and Sven uses the opportunity to put on a clinic. We take a close look at riding steep off-camber sections and the importance of running.

As always, this episode is presented by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer. Please check it out atcyclocrossbook.com.

Footage for SVENNESS 3.2 is via Vier: vier.be/veldrijden

All of the bands featured on this episode are on BandCamp please do what I do and purchase the music if you like what you hear:

Rita Mae Young~The Record Company: therecordcompany.bandcamp.com/track/rita-mae-young

Ramona~Velociraptor: remotecontrol.bandcamp.com/track/ramona

Come Inside~Metro Delays: metrodelays.bandcamp.com/album/doomed-opinions

Goodbyes~RVIVR: rvivr.bandcamp.com/track/goodbyes

Filthy Luck~Beach Slang: beachslang.bandcamp.com/album/who-would-ever-want-anything-so-broken

Gang is Back~Mother’s Children: motherschildren.bandcamp.com/track/gang-is-back

Also check out They Don’t Do That In Europe on The Cyclocross Network. It’s like SVENNESS for your ears: cyclocrossnetwork.com/20-cyclocross-today-tddtie/

Thanks for watching.

SVENNESS 3.2 from In The Crosshairs on Vimeo.

5 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS, Video

SVENNESS 3.1

October 9th, 2014 — 6:44pm

SVENNESS 3.1 starts us off at the 2014 Superprestige Gieten, where a trio of Dutch youngsters look to dethrone the old Belgian guard. Lars van der Haar, David van der Poel and his little brother Mathieu van der Poel are all over the front of this race. The brothers van der Poel are also all over the back of the race as they spend time in the pack with Sven Nys who uncharacteristically flubbed the start and is 30 seconds off the pace. We look at riding and turning in the sand, barrier work and race strategy.

Please help support SVENNESS by checking out Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer available atcyclocrossbook.com.

Shirts available at SVENNESS.com

Footage is via Vier: vier.be/veldrijden

Music for this episode:

Birdsong~Cattle & Cane cattleandcane.bandcamp.com/track/birdsong

Like A Hot Knife~The Modern Era themodernera.bandcamp.com/track/like-a-hot-knife

Mood Bomb~Superfood soundcloud.com/superfood/mood-bomb

DBTS~LVL UP soundcloud.com/double-double-whammy/lvl-up-dbts

No Shows~Gerard Way soundcloud.com/gerardway/no-shows

Summer~The Union Pacific theunionpacific.bandcamp.com/track/summer-2

Thanks for watching.

EDIT: Also, just posted is a weekly segment I’m doing with Scott and David from the Cyclocross Network. If you listen to the podcast audio and watch the SVENNESS video, they sync perfectly. Start the podcast when the lion roars.

6 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS, Video

SVENNESS Goes to the Olympics

February 13th, 2014 — 8:12pm

With cyclocross winding down and the Winter Olympics heating up, we take a bit of a detour to Sochi for the men’s freestyle sprint cross-country skiing final race. The course, which competitors will do one lap of in a little over 3 minutes, has been a challenging one. Many crashes have occurred throughout the day and the final is not immune to its own chaotic excitement. So much going on in this 3 and a half minute race.

Footage via Спорт.

Music by Dudadius: facebook.com/Dudadius and dudadius.bandcamp.com/album/drowzium

Please help support CXHairs.com by hitting the tip jar on the Vimeo page (vimeo.com/86663898) or visiting crosshairscycling.com/shop and picking up a shirt, book, gloves or sock.

Thanks for watching.

SVENNESS Goes to the Olympics from In The Crosshairs on Vimeo.

SVENNESS © 2014 CXHairs LLC

5 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, Skills and Technique, Video

#SVENNESS 2.17

February 7th, 2014 — 3:09am

In episode 2.17, #SVENNESS goes to Hoogerheide, Netherlands, for the 2014 UCI Cyclocross World Championship. The elite men’s race was a battle of two giants, each with two Men’s World Championship jerseys to their name. Zdeněk Štybar won the rainbow jersey in 2010 and 2011, to go along with two U23 jerseys won in 2005 and 2006. Sven Nys is the reigning World Champion. He first won the title in 2005.

The Hoogerheide course is a tough one made even tougher by the wet conditions. The mud on the track is not necessarily deep but it is slick, which makes every turn an adventure. And speaking of turns, there are several significant rutted off-camber sections that play a part in the outcome of this race. We also look at the “swinging gate technique” of getting around a sharp turn, and the run vs. ride decision and it’s tactical application. But mainly, we just sit back and enjoy a barn burner of a race.

SVENNESS season two is sponsored by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer, available at cyclocrossbook.com.

It is also sponsored by CrossVegas, which will takes place September 10 in Las Vegas, Nevada. Rumor has it that this may be a rematch of Stybar and Nys. Just a rumor, but how cool is that? Either way, come join us at the race. More info at crossvegas.com.

Finally, a great way to support this series is to buy a supercool SVENNESS t-shirt at SVENNESS.com.

Also, if you are so inclined, support the site by clicking on the banner ad above and check out what our sponsor Bontrager has to offer.

Video footage for this episode via Sporza: sporza.be/cm/sporza/wielrennen/veldrijden

Buy some music from #SVENNESS 2.17:

Disk is Full, Not Full~Dudadius: dudadius.bandcamp.com/album/drowzium

Cutesy Monster Man~Iron Chic: ironchic.bandcamp.com/album/not-like-this

Ordinary Silence~Mixtapes: nosleepsampler.com/album/ordinary-silence

Is It Your Choice To Say That I Don’t Deserve You?~Souven!rs: souvenirsvannes.bandcamp.com/

Throw Me From the Bridge of Flowers~Wholesome: handsandknees.bandcamp.com/track/throw-me-from-the-bridge-of-flowers

Liar~Of Us Giants: ofusgiants.bandcamp.com/

Everything Between Paint and a Wall~Grandview: grandview.bandcamp.com/album/everything-between-paint-and-a-wall

Be Around~The Peach Kings: thepeachkings.bandcamp.com/album/mojo-thunder-ep

Thanks for watching.

#SVENNESS 2.17 from In The Crosshairs on Vimeo.

SVENNESS and the SVENNESS hashtag © 2014 CXHairs LLC

5 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, Skills and Technique, Video

Be Sven and An Instagram Clip Show

January 29th, 2014 — 8:29am

Hello cyclocross friends!

As we look forward to the 2014 Cyclocross World Championship taking place this weekend at Hoogerheide, Netherlands, we wanted to take a quick look back at our top 10 Instagram videos from the season.

We also wanted to show off the latest sponsor of CXHairs.com, Bontrager. We could not be more stoked on this. Trek and Bontrager have done a fantastic job taking their new relationship with Sven Nys and Sven Vanthourenhout,  and their continuing relationship with Katie Compton to an all new level for cyclocross sponsorship and growth, especially in the United States.

Bontrager launches their “Be Sven. Ride Bontrager” campaign today and have put together a pretty bad ass video to get things kicked off. Check it out below, and if you’re feeling it, give the banner ad above a click and check out what Bontrager has to offer. It’s good stuff and having your eyes on it helps us continue to deliver the #SVENNESS and #LIKEAVOS series as well as pursue other projects like Skills Drills and Bellyaches.

Thank you for your support.

-Bill

Be Sven. Ride Bontrager.

The Top 10 CXHairs Instagram videos. Our moments of Sven(ness), if you will …

10. Even in the junioren classification, rubbin’ is racin’ 52. Toupalik, who deftly avoids getting put into the boards, goes on to win the race. #azencross

9. PSA: from your local race to the pro game, if you’re working the pits, keep that head on a swivel. This message approved by Thijs Al.

8. This is all you need to know about the Czech #cxnats. @martinbina #cyklokros

7. Sven (@sven_nys) gets a taste of life at the back of the field early in today’s World Cup race at #namur.

6. Mathieu van der Poel and Gianni Vermeersch went all in for the U23 silver medal at the European Championships. The whole battle is dissected at the end of #SVENNESS 2.10.

5. Katie Compton (@katiefncompton) descends like a balleur. But you already knew that. Also, Commit to the rut.

4. #STYBY

3. Albert and Peeters nail the synchronized plank hopping portion of their routine at #diegem.

2. Tom Meeusen (@tommeeusen) dials in the cx tabletop at @soudalclassics #leuven

1. This is all you need to know about the Belgian #cxnats. @sven_nys #svenness

To see even more Instagram videos and to get them when released, follow us at instagram.com/cxhairs. You can also follow on Twitter at twitter.com/CXHairs. To see all of the SVENNESS videos go to: www.cxhairs.com/index.php?s=svenness.

Thanks for watching.

 

Comment » | Commentary, Video

Back to top