Tag: svenness


SVENNESS 3.9

January 18th, 2015 — 1:25am

For SVENNESS Episode 3.9 we are at the Flandriencross in Hamme for the third round of the BPost Bank Troffee series. The track is one of the fastest we will see this year, which means the race takes on the look and feel of a road circuit race more than a cyclocross race. No mud or big run-ups to deal with but that doesn’t mean there isn’t excitement. This one is all go from the gun and the rare occasion in which multiple team leaders use teammates to strategically control the race.

Along with concentrating on team tactics, we also determine if riding or running the barriers at Flandriencross is faster and what is the most efficient way to carry your bike up a set of stairs with a turn at the top. This race is one of the first all out battles between Wout van Aert and Matthieu van der Poel. A scenario we suspect will repeat itself many times in the years to come.

Footage for this episode via Sporza.

Music by:

You Light Me Up~Evolfo: evolfodoofeht.bandcamp.com/track/you-light-me-up

Owls~A Drop of Blood: topshelfrecords.bandcamp.com/track/a-drop-of-blood

Ronny’s Song~Mike Sill: mikesillmusic.bandcamp.com/track/ronnys-song

The Villain~Mesita: mesita.bandcamp.com/track/the-villain-2

Half Bad~White Reaper: whitereaper.bandcamp.com/track/half-bad-2

Dance With The Dead~The Entity: newretrowave.bandcamp.com/track/the-entity

Following the postponement of the U.S. Cyclocross Nationals final day, we were stuck with boxes of unsold books, shirts, socks and other merchandise. To support In The Crosshairs and the SVENNESS and LIKEAVOS series, please visit crosshairscycling.com/shop. For a limited time, if you use the coupon CXNats15 you will receive 15 percent off your order.

Thanks for watching.

FacebookTwitterTumblrRedditShare

7 comments » | 2014 Races, SVENNESS, Video

Your Moment of SVENNESS 1.3

December 30th, 2014 — 1:53am

For episode 1.3 of Your Moment of SVENNESS we make a stop in Antwerp, Belgium, for Scheldecross. The course is dry and fast with several sand sections along the way. At the front of the race it was an early battle between three riders: Tom Meeusen, Laurens Sweeck and Mathieu van der Poel. After a few laps it was down to Sweeck and MvdP. We concentrate on one 180 degree sandy turn to see if riding or running is faster, and if that decision is one of the keys to winning the race.

This episode is presented by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer, available at cyclocrossbook.com.

Also, please check out everything available at crosshairscycling.com/shop and SVENNESS shirts and socks at SVENNESS.com.

Footage for this episode via Sporza.

Music is by Afrolicious & Pleasuremaker: afrolicious.bandcamp.com/

Thanks for watching.

Comment » | 2014 Races, Commentary, YMOS

SVENNESS 3.8

December 22nd, 2014 — 1:55am

For episode 3.8, SVENNESS travels to Milton Keynes in Buckinghamshire, England for the third round of the UCI Cyclocross World Cup. Milton Keynes served up a muddy track with difficult off-camber sections and a good amount of running. The race started out chaotic, but once everything settled in it was about who was the strongest and made the fewest mistakes. We concentrate on cornering, picking lines and riding off-camber sections.

This episode of SVENNESS is brought to you by For The Love of Mud, which premiers January 9, 2015, in Austin, Texas, at the U.S. Cyclocross National Championship. Go to texasbikeracing.com/love-mud/ for more info.

Also, as always, please check out Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer at cyclocrossbook.com.

Buy some shirts and socks at SVENNESS.com.

And take a look around at crosshairscycling.com/shop.

Footage for this episode via Sporza: sporza.be/cm/sporza/wielrennen/veldrijden

Music playlist:

Save Me~Listenbee: soundcloud.com/listenbee/save-me

Magic~Olympic Ayres: olympicayres.bandcamp.com/track/magic

Black Lemon~Generationals: generationals.bandcamp.com/track/black-lemon

My Only One~Kissing Party: kissingparty.bandcamp.com/track/my-only-one

Die Alone~Jennie Vee: jennievee.bandcamp.com/album/die-alone-ep

Reservoir~Pup: puptheband.bandcamp.com/track/reservoir-2

Thanks for watching.

11 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS, Video

SVENNESS 3.7

December 2nd, 2014 — 3:59pm

For episode 3.7 we head to Asper-Gavere, Belgium, for the fourth round of the Superprestige series. The course is muddy and slick. Not deep mud but the kind of mud that makes every turn and every descent an adventure. It also makes riding up hills difficult. We look at how riders deal with a particularly hairy descent, the ride vs. run decision and another great example of teamwork and tactical riding.

This episode, as always, is presented by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer available at cyclocrossbook.com. Also check out SVENNESS.com for socks and shirts.

Video for this episode is via Vier: vier.be/veldrijden

Music in this episode:

My Ears Are Ringing~Sama Dams: samadams.bandcamp.com/track/my-ears-are-ringing

Give Me A Reason~Saskwatch: remotecontrol.bandcamp.com/track/give-me-a-reason

Closer~The Effects: theeffects.bandcamp.com/album/closer-b-w-eyes-to-the-light

Pepe Silvia~Perspective, A Lovely Hand to Hold: brokenworldmedia.bandcamp.com/track/pepe-silvia

Heartache~Zibra: soundcloud.com/zibrazibrazibra/zibra-heartache

Another Nice Day~Hillsides: jeffmoller.bandcamp.com/track/another-nice-day-2

Thanks for watching.

SVENNESS 3.7 from In The Crosshairs on Vimeo.

3 comments » | Uncategorized

Your Moment of SVENNESS 1.2

November 28th, 2014 — 5:16pm

For the second installment of YMOS we take a look at the steep off-camber section at the Soudal Classic race that took place November 11, 2014, in Niel, Belgium. The newly designed course features a man-made sand dune and a lot less pavement. It also features several great off-camber sections that forced riders to think hard about line choice. Episode 1.2 focuses on one of these off-camber sections and the short climb that follows it. This one is about gravity and momentum and how choosing the right line can help take advantage of both of those forces.

Your moment of SVENNESS is presented by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer available at cyclocrossbook.comand by everything available at SVENNESS.com.

Footage for this episode is via Sporza.

Thanks for watching.

Your Moment Of SVENNESS 1.2 from In The Crosshairs on Vimeo.

1 comment » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS, Video, YMOS

SVENNESS 3.6

November 21st, 2014 — 1:05am

For episode 3.6 we head to Ruddervoorde for the third round of the Superprestige series. The race takes place in a usually quiet neighborhood. It’s a tight course with lots of turns and short climbs. There is nowhere to really escape and more than a handful of riders are in contention as the race winds down. A far cry from the two or three racers we normally see off the front at the end of the race. Riding vs. running is one key (and one that is the topic of discussion in the first episode of Your Moment of SVENNESS available here: cxhairs.com/2014/11/18/your-moment-of-svenness-1-1/) The sand, while not treacherous like Zonhoven also plays a role. But more than anything it’s a battle to the end with many different leaders and a great performance by the winner.

SVENNESS is presented by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer. Check it out at cyclocrossbook.com. Also please give some love to our sponsor the Cadence Collection. Click through the banner at the top of this page and get 25 percent off with the discount code.

Footage is via Vier: vier.be/veldrijden

All music in this episode is available for purchase at Bandcamp.com.

Playlist:

Had Ten Dollaz~Cherry Glazerr: suicidesqueeze.bandcamp.com/track/had-ten-dollaz

Move Away~Shambles: shamblesmusic.bandcamp.com/album/move-away

Too Shabby~Rozwell Kid: brokenworldmedia.bandcamp.com/album/too-shabby

Royal Blue~The American Scene: purenoise.bandcamp.com/track/royal-blue

Cosmic Misery~Martha: marthadiy.bandcamp.com/album/courting-strong

Thanks for watching.

SVENNESS 3.6 from In The Crosshairs on Vimeo.

2 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS, Video

Your Moment Of SVENNESS 1.1

November 18th, 2014 — 12:11am

While we put together the next full-on SVENNESS episode, here is a bit of a return to the SVENNESS roots. For “Your Moment of SVENNESS” the idea is to take one feature on a course, or one specific skill, and concentrate on just that. No race recap, just an analysis of one feature.This is similar to the first six episodes of SVENNESS from two years ago. Except this time with a voice over.

Your Moment of SVENNESS (YMOS) 1.1 is taken from the Super Prestige Ruddervoorde race. It looks at one of the two sets of steps on the course and the multiple off-camber turns directly after. The discussion includes a look at different carrying techniques and then a breakdown of the run vs. ride decision.

Footage is by Vier.

As always, if you like what you see, please visit crosshairscycling.com/shop and pick up a shirt or book. New socks and more SVENNESS shirts should be in stock soon.

Thanks for watching.

5 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS

SVENNESS 3.5

November 12th, 2014 — 3:38am

For Episode 3.5 of SVENNESS we travel to the Belgian province of Limburg for the Superprestige Zonhoven. The race is a fan favorite known for its two harrowing descents down the side of a sand dune. This year the sand certainly plays a role but it isn’t the dunes. Rather a short off-camber and flat long sandy straight are the features that make the race. Sven Nys is out for redemption after being mired in a finish line controversy the day before at Koppenberg Cross. Tom Meeusen, Lars van der Haar, Kevin Pauwels, Mathieu van der Poel and Klaas Vantornout all are riding strong and this race is up for grabs from the hole shot.

As always, SVENNESS is brought to you by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer. For more information and to purchase a copy visit cyclocrossbook.com.

Footage for this episode is via Vier: www.vier.be/veldrijden

All music is available at Bandcamp.com. If you like a tune, go buy it.

Breaker~Chaos Chaos: https://chaoschaos.bandcamp.com/album/committed-to-the-crime

Not Bad~Good Shade: https://goodshade.bandcamp.com/album/good-shade

Hot 97 Summer Jam~Chumped: https://chumped.bandcamp.com/track/hot-97-summer-jam

16 Questions~The No Marks: https://brassneckrecords.bandcamp.com/track/16-questions-2

Alchemy~Banner Pilot: https://bannerpilot.bandcamp.com/track/alchemy

Saffron~Cool TV: https://thenameofthisbandiscool.bandcamp.com/track/saffron

Thanks for watching.

6 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS, Video

SVENNESS 3.4

November 7th, 2014 — 7:01am

For SVENNESS episode 3.4 we travel to the Koppenberg Cross in Oudenaarde, Belgium. The B-Post Trophy race uses the same cobbled climb, the Koppenberg, that features in the Tour of Flanders, but here it is more of a respite than a launching pad. The Koppenberg Cross is all about climbing and descending and those who excel at those skills will have the advantage. We concentrate on cornering on descents, riding mud, race strategy and a controversial finish.

SVENNESS 3.4 is brought to you by Skills, Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer. Check it out at cyclocrossbook.com.

Video is via Sporza: http://sporza.be/cm/sporza/wielrennen/veldrijden

Music for this episode is all available for purchase directly from the artist through BandCamp.

Playlist:

I Am The Sea~The Bloody Oranges: thebloodyoranges.com/track/i-am-the-sea

Dead Wrong~Somos: somos.bandcamp.com/track/dead-wrong

Rats~Kill Chaos: fieldrecords.bandcamp.com/track/rats

Radio Silence~Cosmonaut: cosmonautnyc.bandcamp.com/album/radio-silence-7

I Want To Waste Away With You~Sports Bar: wearesportsbar.bandcamp.com/album/i-want-to-waste-away-with-you

Bending Ober Backwards~High-Tails: hightailsband.bandcamp.com/track/bending-over-backwards

Money~Mystery Skulls: mysteryskulls.bandcamp.com/track/money

Big Hearts~The Swellers: nosleepsampler.com/track/big-hearts

Thanks for watching.

9 comments » | 2014 Races, Commentary, Skills and Technique, SVENNESS, Video

SVENNESS 3.3

October 31st, 2014 — 7:49pm

For episode 3.3 we take a trip to Valkenburg, Netherlands, for the first round of the UCI World Cup. The Valkenburg course is a tough one. Lots of elevation changes, difficult off-camber sections, a tough descent and a killer run-up. We spend a lot of time on the off-camber inspecting lines and technique. We also take a look at the tricky descent and a great race for the podium. The winner is decided pretty early in this one, so the drama comes from the race for second place. Finally, we spend some time tracking Jeremy Powers who started in the pack but methodically worked his way up to a great finishing spot.

As always, you can support what we do by purchasing Skills Drills & Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer. It makes a great gift and is available at cyclocrossbook.com.

You can also check out our shirts, socks and other swag at crosshairscycling.com/shop.

Video for this episode via Sporza: sporza.be/cm/sporza/wielrennen/veldrijden

Music for this episode is available at bandcamp.com. If you like a song, buy the song. And maybe send a tweet to the artist letting them know where you heard it.

Playlist:

The Catherdral~Meridian: youthconspiracy.bandcamp.com/album/the-cathedral

Gotta Wait~Childcare: childcareband.bandcamp.com/track/gotta-wait

Just One Of Those Things~Textbook: textbook.bandcamp.com/album/all-messed-up

Chapters~River Jumpers: riverjumpers.bandcamp.com/album/chapters

Anyway~Moose Blood: nosleepsampler.com/track/anyway

Hiding from You~Sonic Avenues: takenbysurpriserecords.bandcamp.com/track/hiding-from-you

Thanks for watching.

SVENNESS 3.3 from In The Crosshairs on Vimeo.

Comment » | 2014 Races, Commentary, SVENNESS, Video

Back to top