USA Cycling Revises Cyclocross Upgrade Criteria

Hot off the presses, here is the latest dispatch from USA Cycling on upgrades. Read it, learn it, know it. The entire 2013 rulebook is available here:  2013 USA Cycling Rule Book.

USA Cycling revises cyclo-cross upgrade criteria

Colorado Springs, Colo. (March 20, 2013) — USA Cycling on Wednesday announced that it has amended rule 1E6, which outlines upgrades and downgrades for cyclo-cross racers.

Beginning in 2013, all newly-licensed riders will begin as a category 5 racer. Any riders who will be renewing from 2013 forward will maintain the category from the previous year. A category 5 rider will mandatorily be upgraded to a category 4 rider after competing in 10 races. Once a rider becomes a category 4 rider, he or she faces voluntary or mandatory upgrades.

A category 4 rider can voluntarily be upgraded to a category 3 rider after earning 10 points. A category 4 rider faces mandatory upgrade after accruing 15 points or two wins in a field of at least 30 competitors. A category 3 rider can upgrade to a category 2 rider after amassing 15 points. A category 3 rider is mandatorily upgraded to category 2 after collecting 20 points or winning two races with at least 30 competitors. A category 2 rider can elect to be upgraded to category 1 after totaling 20 points. A category 2 rider will face mandatory upgrade after accruing 25 points or two wins in a 40-rider field.

Juniors riders are exempt from the mandatory upgrades beginning at category 4.

For a look at how points are earned, please see the chart below:

Points awarded for Cyclo-cross Races

Number of Starters

Placing 5-10 11-20 21-50 50+
1 3 4 5 7
2 2 3 4 5
3 1 2 3 4
4 1 2 3
5 1 2
6 1




One thought on “USA Cycling Revises Cyclocross Upgrade Criteria

  1. It’s still unclear whether a rider can accumulate all of their points in one race category to upgrade or if they can combine race categories. i.e. Can a masters rider upgrade only using masters races and can a junior rider upgrade only using junior races or do they have to race category appropriate races to upgrade?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.