Highlights: Pan-American Championships

Last year’s continental champions Stephen Hyde (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com) and Katie Compton (KFC Racing p/b Trek/Knight) will continue their reign after winning at the Pan-American Cyclocross Championships on Sunday in Louisville, Ky. Both winners turned in dominant solo rides at Joe Creason Park — the venue where both had already won the preceding day during the final round of the US Cup-CX. Here are highlights from both elite races.

Compton achieved early separation from the field with Kaitie Keough, and took advantage of a bobble by Keough on lap three to create a gap, which she extended to the finish. Christel Ferrier-Bruneau, who managed to ride with Keough and Compton early, rounded out the podium in third place.

After dragging a group of front-runners up to the lead duo of Tobin Ortenblad and Michael van den Ham, Hyde powered away from his competition on lap four. After the chase group eventually stalled, his winning margin ended up at over one minute, with Ortenblad eventually besting van den Ham for second place.

Here are the top 10 finishers from each race.

Elite Women

  1. Katie Compton (KFC Racing p/b Trek/Knight) 46:01
  2. Kaitlin Keough (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com) 46:28
  3. Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (SAS Macogep Aquisio) 47:35
  4. Courtenay McFadden (Pivot Cycles p/b DNA Cycling) 48:22
  5. Rebecca Fahringer (Stan’s NoTubes p/b Maxxis) 48:35
  6. Maghalie Rochette (CLIF Pro Team) 48:49
  7. Sunny Gilbert (Van Dessel/Atom Composites) 48:56
  8. Ellen Noble (Aspire Racing) 48:57
  9. Sofia Gomez-Villafañe (Pivot Cycles p/b DNA Cycling) 49:59
  10. Cassandra Maximenko (Van Dessel/Atom Composites) 50:24

Elite Men

  1. Stephen Hyde (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com) 1:05:41
  2. Tobin Ortenblad (Santa Cruz/Donkey Label Racing) 1:07:02
  3. Michael van den Ham (Garneau-Easton p/b Transitions LifeCare) 1:07:12
  4. Fernando Riveros Paez (Stan’s NoTubes p/b Maxxis) 1:07:48
  5. Kerry Werner (Kona) 1:08:09
  6. Jamey Driscoll (Donnelly Cycling) 1:08:18
  7. Travis Livermon (Maxxis-Shimano) 1:09:22
  8. Andrew Dillman (Think Green) 1:09:35
  9. Jack Kisseberth (JAM Fund/NCC) 1:09:37
  10. Tristan Cowie (Triple Oaks Racing) 1:09:40

Lead photo © 2017 Ethan Glading. Videos © 2017 cxhairs.com


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.